Friday Link Pack: 2/28/14

The last Friday in February – how time flies. I believe this will be my last Friday Link Pack to cover for K.M. Alexander, however I plan to continue doing this style of post more regularly. It has been a great experience in the sense that I have become more diligent in reading more blog posts and staying in tune with the writing community.

I owe a thank you to those who have tuned in and followed writebrainedramblings – I know a couple of you have become followers and I hope to offer you motivation, advice, and a place to read something of substance, if not tangential. Please feel free to follow me on Twitter at @wordrew.

Writing:

“I almost let him die.”

Victoria is a great writer to follow – her insights are always fantastic and tangible.  This article really hit home with me, as my most recent work (of which I posted a raw snippet) was something that I wrote on a warped mini notepad that I was using as a coaster on my nightstand. The opening of the story was a slurry of words that swirled and thickened in my mind as I drifted on the edge of deep sleep. Usually, when I am tired, I SLEEP – there is no drifting near anything. Just sleep.

Writing Excuses 9.6: The Experience of Time

This is a great episode in which relating real life experiences, and how the flow of time can change, in real life situations. Time can play such a powerful role in our writing – it can also wreak havoc if we are not careful.

The Biggest Lie Aspiring Writers Believe

I cannot tell you how hard this hit home with me. It is my biggest struggle. It always has been. I need to plug in a different response, pronto. Instead of ‘one more video game’ or ‘just a bit more research on new board games’. I need to listen to Patrick Rothfuss when he says:

RothfussPatrick

Random:

National Enquirer Forced to Fund New Playwriting Foundation in Honor of Phillip Seymour Hoffman

I have listened to both side of the argument about PSH’s death – that it is tragic and too early, or that we shouldn’t be praising an addict who chose drugs over family. This isn’t in any way taking a stance on that issue. This is a rose in the cracks – a seedling of something great born from a tragedy. Plus, screw the National Enquirer.

On why I accepted the apology and on the role of apologies in general

I love Mary Robinette Kowal, but I do not follow her enough to know what this post is really about – I imagine it has to do with SFWA and the trouble that community has been having as of late. None-the-less, this is a great article to read about what an apology actually is, and why we need to think about them before we give or accept them.

Farewell Gif of the Week:

“Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.”

-Albert Einstein

Leave a Reply

